The 17th Junior Eurovision Song Contest (JESC), will take place in Gliwice-Silesia on Sunday 24th November, organisers the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) have announced.

Polish EBU Member TVP will host the competition, which celebrates extraordinary young musical talent aged between 9 and 14 from across Europe, at the Arena Gliwice. They’re hosting the competition for the first time following Roksana Węgiel’s win for Poland at last year’s JESC in Minsk.

Logo Junior Eurovision 2019. Image: TVP

Poland will be defending their title alongside previous winners Armenia, Belarus, Georgia, Italy, Malta, the Netherlands, Russia, Spain and Ukraine. The rest of the 2019 contenders are Albania, Australia, France, Ireland, Kazakhstan, North Macedonia, Portugal, Serbia and Wales. Spain, who won the 2nd JESC in 2004 and boast four Top 4 placings, is returning to the competition for the first time since 2006.

Previous Junior Eurovision contestants who have gone on to represent their countries at the Eurovision Song Contest (ESC), include the Tolmachevy Sisters from Russia who came 7th at the 2014 ESC and O’G3NE from the Netherlands who just missed out on a Top 10 placing in 2017.

The winner of this year’s Junior Eurovision Song Contest will be invited to appear at the Eurovision Song Contest 2020 in the Netherlands.

Of this year’s JESC participating countries Georgia holds the record for the most wins with three successes. Belarus, Russia and Malta have all triumphed twice and Armenia, Italy, the Netherlands, Poland, Spain and Ukraine have won one Contest each.

Jon Ola Sand, the EBU’s Head of Live Events and JESC Executive Supervisor said “We are delighted to welcome talented young performers from 19 countries to the 17th Junior Eurovision Song Contest. TVP is promising a fantastic show which will allow all the contestants to shine as they #ShareTheJoy with young audiences and their families across Europe.”

Who will be representing Malta this year?