Whilst it is almost obvious that most of us will be watching tonight’s show to see Michela’s performance… there is actually quite a show for all music lovers. Have a look…


After her victory last year, the honor of opening the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest falls to last year’s winner Netta Barzilai. She will get the party started along with Israel’s previous Eurovision winner, Dana International and Israel’s first ever Eurovision representative, Ilanit.

As has become a tradition since the 2013 Eurovision Song Contest in Malmö, the Grand Final will open with a flag parade to introduce the 26 competing entrants before the Eurovision Song Contest begins.


As was already announced last month at the host broadcaster press conference, a special ‘switch song’ act is planned for the Grand Final featuring former Eurovision winners and runners up:

  • Conchita will sing Måns Zelmerlöw’s Heroes (Sweden 2015)
  • Måns Zelmerlöw will sing Eleni Foureira’s Fuego (Cyprus 2018)
  • Eleni Foureira will sing Verka Serduchka’s Dancing Lasha Tumbai (Ukraine 2007)
  • Verka Serduchka will perform Netta’s Toy (Israel 2018)

At the end all four artists will join Gali Atari on stage to perform her 1979 winning song, Hallelujah.

Conchita, Måns Zelmerlöw, Verka Serduchka and Eleni Foureira (© EBU)


Just before time runs out on Netta’s reign as Eurovision Queen, she will perform her new song Nana Banana. If you want to sing along, there’s still time to learn the words in Netta’s lyric video.

Netta Barzilai (© Daniel Kaminsky)


International pop icon Madonna will perform 2 songs during the Grand Final of the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest on 18 May: Her 1989 smash hit ‘Like A Prayer’ and a world exclusive of brand-new single ‘Future’, which she will perform together with American rapper Quavo.


Last night, during the Jury Final, the national juries from all 41 participating countries already cast their vote. Their vote counts for 50% of tonight’s result.

You determine the other half of the outcome. You can vote starting as soon as the hosts open the lines, as soon as the last contestant has performed. As soon as the voting lines have closed, Digame, the EBU’s official voting partner of the Eurovision Song Contest, will aggregate the televotes from all participating countries. Under the supervision of the EBU and EY notaries, the scores are then verified.

First, all 41 spokespersons will reveal the jury points. From each country the points 1-8 and 10 will appear and the scoreboard, the spokesperson will then reveal that country’s 12 points. Next, all countries’ televoting points will be added together, to be revealed starting at the bottom of the scoreboard, working towards a thriller finale.

Close to 1:00 CEST we will finally know the winner of the 64th Eurovision Song Contest. Feels like quite a long wait to know how Malta did!