Government and health authorities are closely following the developing situation in countries of transmission. It is evident that the COVID-19 outbreak is increasing exponentially in France, Spain, Switzerland and Germany. Therefore, after taking the necessary medical advice, Government has decided to stop all air and sea travelling from and to these countries as from 23:59 of 11th March.

The only permitted connection between Malta and these countries will be for the transport of goods and food.

As from today, 11th of March, persons who enter Malta from France, Spain, Switzerland and Germany will be subject to 14 days of mandatory quarantine.

On the other hand, persons who have been in Italy, China (including Hong Kong), Singapore, Japan, Iran and South Korea, from 27 February 2020 onwards, will be subject to 14 days of mandatory quarantine upon their entry into Malta. This period starts from the last day that these persons were in any of these countries.

The mandatory quarantine will be enforced through regular police spot-checks and failure to observe this obligation will result in a fine of €1,000 for each time it is breached.

Government will not tolerate any irresponsible attitude from persons who try to avoid the mandatory quarantine.

There is no need for alarm. The situation is under control. Malta is prepared for every eventuality.