Today we bid farewell to Ms Marie Louise Coleiro Preca as President of Malta, and welcome Dr George Vella as our 10th President. 

George Vella will be sworn in as Malta’s tenth President in a special sitting of the House of Representatives today at noon. The ceremony will start with a Mass led by Archbishop Charles Scicluna at 10am at St John’s Co-Cathedral. Right after, Dr Vella will walk to the Palace, where the parliamentary sitting will be held in the Grand Council Chamber.

Soon after the parliamentary sitting starts, Speaker Anġlu Farrugia will escort Dr Vella into the chamber. He will then administer the oath of office. The AFM will fire a salute from Pope Pius V Street in Valletta.

The new President will read a proclamation declaring that he has assumed the new duties and will then deliver his inaugural address. At the end of the ceremony he will greet the crowd from the Palace balcony.

The new President’s first official function will be to pay tribute to the fallen by laying a wreath at the foot of the War Memorial in Floriana. He then proceeds to San Anton Palace – his home for the next five years – where the staff will be introduced.

We wish to thank Ms Coleiro Preca for all the work she has done during the past five years and wish all the best to Dr George Vella for this new role, a very important one indeed. 

Image: TVM